Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks!!
I am still relatively new to the corvette world, as I have owned my 1980 vette for about a month and a half now, but even in this limited amount of time, I have come to the following conclusion:

There are two kinds of c3 corvette owners: Those who have replaced trailing arms, and those who haven't.

Had a rear wheel bearing starting to howl at me, figured it needed to be replaced. Did some research, and found that replacing the wheel bearing itself was a giant hassle requiring special tools and such, so I figured the best thing to do was to just replace the whole trailing arm assembly. Did some more research. Found that replacing trailing arms was also a giant hassle, but doesn't need so much in the way of special tools, and besides, once you are done, a major portion of rear suspension is new, and ya don't have to worry about it for awhile. So I jumped in with both feet. Ordered the trailing arms, and when they showed up, I got started. The undercarriage of my car is relatively rust-free, and in pretty good shape in general, so I thought I wouldn't have to much trouble. I was wrong. First problem: The lower shock mounts refused to budge. Had to cut 'em off with a sawzall, and order new ones. Second problem: Trailing arm bushing bolts didn't wanna budge. took a sawzall to 'em, and ordered new ones. The reassembly went alot better. Still have to get to the alignment shop, and that should be that.