Chevy Corvette Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
9,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My high mileage TH700R4 suddenly has an occasional problem when shifting or operating in 3rd gear. My engine will suddenly start revving as if the transmission has gone into neutral. I had been using a 1-1/4" deeper pan and extended filter for the last 6 to 7 years so I suspected a leaking filter seal allowing it to suck in air. I replaced the seal and it did the same thing. Then I installed the original pan and a stock filter and that didn't help either. And no, it's NOT low on oil.

When I had the pan off I noticed there wasn't any debris in the pan and after I cut the filter open I just found some shiny aluminum chips that likely came from the input drum but no sign of clutch material.

As it has well over 100,000 miles of gentle use I'm wondering if the 3/4 clutch pack piston seal has become hardened with age and occasionally isn't sealing. I ordered a 12 ounce bottle of G.M. seal conditioner that is supposed to soften seals. I asked Dana Wilkes (a High Perf TH700R4 rebuilder) what he thought and he recommended overfilling it a bit to see if that helps.

Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
9,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
My high mileage TH700R4 suddenly has an occasional problem when shifting into or operating in 3rd gear. My engine will suddenly start revving as if the transmission has gone into neutral. I had been using a 1-1/4" deeper pan and extended filter for the last 6 to 7 years so I suspected a leaking filter seal allowing it to suck in air. I replaced the seal and it did the same thing. Then I installed the original pan and a stock filter and that didn't help either. And no, it's NOT low on oil.

When I had the pan off I noticed there wasn't any debris in the pan and after I cut the filter open I just found some shiny aluminum chips that likely came from the input drum but no sign of clutch material.