Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to replace the fuel pump in my '61 corvette. Although fairly handy I am not an experienced mechanic and am looking for advice with a couple of issues. The first - is there anyway to plug the flexible fuel line where it ports into the fuel pump. I know I should drain the fuel tank first but I filled it just before the pump died. (note: I haven't yet determined whether the fuel line is blocked between the tank and the pump.) I don't look forward to draining the gas tank with this much gasoline but it is what it is.

The second issue is related to the fuel pump and the push rod from the cam. I have read, "On the front side of the block, next to the fuel pump, you'll see two mounting holes. The upper hole is threaded all the way through the block into the cavity for the fuel pump push rod. Before removing the pump, thread a 3/8" bold in, lightly tightening the bold against the push rod. This will lock the push rod in place so that it does not drop when removing the fuel pump… After installing the new gasket and fuel pump, remove the temporary bolt, releasing the push rod to rest against the fuel pump rocker arm. Reinstall fittings and lines etc…"

I find this somewhat confusing and checked the shop manual. it urges caution when connecting the push rod to the rocker arm but says nothing about a bold etc. The shop manual suggests that care should be taken to make sure the push rod is positioned properly and to test it by feel before tightening up by having a helper crank the engine. If you feel no push rod action (vibration) then it is not positioned properly.

I suppose once I get the pump off the block I will have a better understanding of the "bolt option." Unfortunately, it looks like I will also have to drain the radiator and remove the lower hose in order to get the pump off. It doesn't help that I will be working on my back all the while as I do not have a lift.