Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! 1987 auto coupe with 92,000 miles.

A while ago I posted about a few noises I heard in the car where I asked for opinions. The results of everyone's opinions were to change the U joints on the half shaft for the first noise and to change the drive shaft U joint for the second noise.

Now, that said, I like to work on my car and have basic tool and mechanical skills, but I tend to stay away from the big stuff. I'm by no means a professional mechanic, but I'm not afraid of cars either. I asked my mechanic to give a quick estimate on making these repairs. He said the parts are about $180 and labor was the killer at about 9 hours (by the book) at $75/hour, making the total around $850. I hate to say it, but I don't want to spend that much on the car. Especially knowing the parts are under $200.

So, that brings me to my questions. Someone graciously posted a link on how to replace the half shaft U joint. However, I'm not really into replacing stuff that isn't broken. I have not checked the wheels for movement to even determine if the half shaft U joints are bad. How much movement is considered "too much" and a sign that this definitely needs to be replaced?

My next question is about the drive shaft U joint. Does anyone know where I can find instructions on doing this job? My Haynes manual doesn't really go into detail on this one. Also, how can I tell if it needs to be replaced for sure?

Keep in mind, I don't have a lift. Everything I do is with the car on jack stands and me on my back sliding around on a creeper. :)

Thanks everyone for all the help you've been! I appreciate it!

Mike

·
Registered
1,466 Posts