Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
799 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Does anybody know how to test the Idle Air Control Valve attached to the throttle body? I'm beginning to suspect my no start condition is more related to this than vacuum leaks; while looking around I noticed coolant leaking out near the IAC. This would be a huge help, if it really did **** the bed than that may be why my car wont start. To further enforce my new theory, when I unplugged the IAC valve and tried to start the car, I got the same result as when it was plugged in. As always, any suggestions are welcome I am no expert!

·
Registered
9,695 Posts
Does anybody know how to test the Idle Air Control Valve attached to the throttle body? I'm beginning to suspect my no start condition is more related to this than vacuum leaks; while looking around I noticed coolant leaking out near the IAC. This would be a huge help, if it really did **** the bed than that may be why my car wont start. To further enforce my new theory, when I unplugged the IAC valve and tried to start the car, I got the same result as when it was plugged in. As always, any suggestions are welcome I am no expert!

Take it out of the throttle body and connect a ground wire to it's housing. Then turn your key on and off. The pintle should move.

·
Registered
799 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So how can I test it without losing anything?

I ordered a new one anyway on the off chance it was the problem, if not I'll return it.

I'd still rather not need a new one if I don't need a new one.

·
Registered
9,695 Posts
:doh: Fair enough.

So does anybody know if this particular component, if faulty, will result in a no start condition?

The engine starts with the pintle closed then the moment the engine starts the computer opens it up to the correct amount. But even if the pintle was wide open the engine should start. A no-start can only be caused by a lack of fuel or a lack of spark.

·
Registered