Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone put a hood scoop on their vette? I'm about 1" to tall on my air lid. Can't cut the lid (it will run into the carb) and the filter is only 1 1/2" tall.

So I'm left with 1) adding a hood scoop or 2)get a new hood (which won't be for a very long time)

Has anyone cut a hole in their hood. I kinda hate to do so but I know how long I will have to wait for a new hood.

This is what the hood scoop will kinda look like.

·
Premium Member
9,048 Posts
there are lots of C3 s with scoops.. figure out how much of a hole you need to clear with a little extra , find a scoop that will cover all of the hole and be tall enough . some can be bolted thru hood or glued on . I prefer the old 427 scoop to the Pontiac style.

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've never done anything like this before. But I like the first pic one. But I do like the mesh screen on the second one. I guess I can always buy a mesh screen to put in there.

Thanks (as always ) Fish!!:thumbsup3:

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)

Ecklers has it for $699.99

But then I would have to have it painted. {I'm going with a completely new color scheem once I get all of my "new" body parts (i.e. hood, spoiler front and back valance)have it painted.} Other wise it will drive me nuts with missmatched paint. If I did just go with the hood scoop I'd have it painted the same color.

Dang it!!! I guess I'll just use my old air lid and when it comes to the car shows just put this new lid back on. Just have to remember to change it back before I shut the hood LOL.
Ok I think I've made up my mind sorry to waist your time. I quess this works by talking/thinking/typing "out loud"

·
Registered
22 Posts