Chevy Corvette Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I've had my '78 now for 9 days, and the first big problem just arose. I went to the gym today at lunch, locked both doors, but only the passenger side opens now. The driver's side key feels like it unlocks it, but it won't open. Can't open from the inside either by manually pulling the handle. Door lock button on the inside is fully extended out to the unlock position.

I'm 6'-2".............climbing over the shifter sucks! Help!!!
Thank you

·
Registered
1,423 Posts
Sounds like your problem lies inside the door. Take the driver's side door panel off. Make sure none of the linkage to the lock and the latch are binding or bent. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how do I do that if the door won't open? Do I need to remove the drivers seat to get at the door panel? Is the door panel tricky to remove? I'm a newbie at this. Thanks for getting back so quickly Hotrod!

·
Registered
4,215 Posts
Ah, I had the same problem with my 74', cept it was the passengers side. Took out the door panel and realized it was my door lock latch that was stuck shut. I got a flat head screwdriver and then pried off the door lock latch. I unscrewed it and examined it, turns out it was old and a bit rusted, I sprayed Wd-40 and put some grease on it but it was beyond my repair. It just won't move, I ended up buying a whole new door lock latch from Eckler's, installed it and everything went great. You may just get off the hook with some grease, to get to the door panel, start loosening up screws on the door panel and completely expose the inner components, locate the door lock and examine it, then work around with a flat head screwdriver from the passenger side or if you can from your driver's side, leave taking out the seat as a last last resort, you shouldn't have to. Check this out so you get a better idea:
http://www.ecklers.com/product.asp?pf_id=45517&dept_id=1445

·