Edelbrock Air Gap - SmokinVette.com Forums
SmokinVette.com Home
  • Corvette Forum
  • Login to Corvette Forums
  • SmokinVette.com
  • About SmokinVette.com
  • Corvette Forum
  • Corvette Gallery
  • Corvette Parts
  • Corvette Yellow Pages
SmokinVette.com Forums : Corvette Forums : C4 Corvette Forums : C4 Tech & Performance : Edelbrock Air Gap
C4 Tech & Performance

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 02:54 PM   #1
CodeGnome
Smokin 100HP Club
 
CodeGnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DeFuniak Springs, FL
Posts: 146
Default Edelbrock Air Gap

Edelbrock is suggesting that their RPM Air Gap manifold will not fit under the stock hood of my 84. Anyone have experience with this manifold on a C4? How did you deal with clearance issues?
CodeGnome is offline  
Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:55 PM   #2
vetteoz
Smokin 2500HP Pro Road Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,849
Default

Performer ,Torker II ,Weiand Stealth all w/Holley carb are mentioned as fitting with a drop base air cleaner
Compare the listed height of those intakes with that of a Air Gap
A Hood scoop is always a option?
__________________
"Being able to "think outside the box" presupposes you were able to think in it." --Bob Lutz
vetteoz is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:12 AM   #3
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,102
Default

tired of the Crossfire?
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:52 AM   #4
CodeGnome
Smokin 100HP Club
 
CodeGnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DeFuniak Springs, FL
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishslayer143@yahoo.com View Post
tired of the Crossfire?
Can't say I'm tired of it, but I won't be able to get the flow out if it needed to support new heads and cam. I know there are alternatives, but I've got a working/paying man's budget to stay within - so yeah I'm taking the cheap way out.
CodeGnome is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:17 AM   #5
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeGnome View Post
Can't say I'm tired of it, but I won't be able to get the flow out if it needed to support new heads and cam. I know there are alternatives, but I've got a working/paying man's budget to stay within - so yeah I'm taking the cheap way out.
RPM Air Gap will make plenty power when combined with the supporting components... I have one on my stroker,.. dyno d out, at 525HP @6200rpm, 498 FT LBS torque
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:51 AM   #6
toobroketoretire
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
toobroketoretire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dunlap, California
Posts: 8,933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeGnome View Post
Edelbrock is suggesting that their RPM Air Gap manifold will not fit under the stock hood of my 84. Anyone have experience with this manifold on a C4? How did you deal with clearance issues?

The Air Gap intake is the same height as all of the other "high rise" intake manifolds; a full 6" when laying a straight edge on the carburetor mount surface then measuring down to the top of the rear of the block. I suggest going to a Renegade then everything will still fit under the hood and will flow just as much air as a high rise.
toobroketoretire is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:39 PM   #7
vetteoz
Smokin 2500HP Pro Road Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toobroketoretire View Post
I suggest going to a Renegade then everything will still fit under the hood and will flow just as much air as a high rise.
But can you actually buy one yet?
__________________
"Being able to "think outside the box" presupposes you were able to think in it." --Bob Lutz
vetteoz is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:47 PM   #8
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vetteoz View Post
But can you actually buy one yet?
Toobroke got the #0007 Renegade built.. but from what I ve seen, its a very,very long wait for one
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:04 PM   #9
vetteoz
Smokin 2500HP Pro Road Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishslayer143@yahoo.com View Post
but from what I ve seen, its a very,very long wait for one
The DCS site currently states
NEWS-- UPDATE: 1/17/13
"The tooling at the machinist is complete along with the tooling fixture. The first manifold of the new pours has started the first phase of machining
last week. We are confident that the machining will go well, but some bugs are expected.
Keep watching for more updates now that we have started the test machining process."
NOT AVAILABLE YET


But I recall similar statements from DCS when we were arguing about the Renegade intake , what 4 years go?

Their R and D dept must work verrrry slow......
__________________
"Being able to "think outside the box" presupposes you were able to think in it." --Bob Lutz

Last edited by vetteoz; 01-26-2013 at 10:06 PM.
vetteoz is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 03:14 AM   #10
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vetteoz View Post
The DCS site currently states
NEWS-- UPDATE: 1/17/13
"The tooling at the machinist is complete along with the tooling fixture. The first manifold of the new pours has started the first phase of machining
last week. We are confident that the machining will go well, but some bugs are expected.
Keep watching for more updates now that we have started the test machining process."
NOT AVAILABLE YET


But I recall similar statements from DCS when we were arguing about the Renegade intake , what 4 years go?

Their R and D dept must work verrrry slow......
yeah,it has been years... its like watching trees grow with those guys....I have no clue what the delays are all about... maybe financing?. Toobroke got his after about 2 years of waiting.. he says it was a big improvement over the stock , but if you gotta wait years for one, I would go with an alternative too..
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Share This Thread
  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to Facebook
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to MySpace
  • Submit Thread to Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Google
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:04 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2006-2009 © SmokinVette.Com