1979 Wont Idle - SmokinVette.com Forums
SmokinVette.com Home
  • Corvette Forum
  • Login to Corvette Forums
  • SmokinVette.com
  • About SmokinVette.com
  • Corvette Forum
  • Corvette Gallery
  • Corvette Parts
  • Corvette Yellow Pages
SmokinVette.com Forums : Corvette Forums : C3 Corvette Forums : C3 Tech & Performance : 1979 Wont Idle
C3 Tech & Performance

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 08:15 AM   #1
jons1946
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 4
Unhappy 1979 Wont Idle

I jsut recently purchased a 1979 Corvette with the L-48 engine. It is a California car and starts fine and idles at 1300 RPM till warmed up. At this point the idle drops below 500 RPM and the engine stalls. I have checked most vacuum lines, put in a new air filter and fuel filter. What could the problem be?
jons1946 is offline  
Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:56 AM   #2
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,001
Default

have you tried turning the idle adjustment screw to increase idle speed? its on drivers side of carb .. while the choke is on, the fast idle cam on the passenger side ,sets idle speed , when it goes off, the idle falls. ..
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:01 AM   #3
jons1946
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 4
Default Wont Idle

I had my brother in law adjust the idle (on the drivers side) over the Xmas holidays while I kept the RPM's up. This seemed to help for a while, now it's back to the initial problem. Note, I also added Sea Foam to the gas tank which I hoped would clean the carb. This car sat in storage for 12 years and the owner took it out of storage and started working on it about 2 years ago.

Last edited by jons1946; 01-08-2013 at 10:16 AM.
jons1946 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:03 AM   #4
jons1946
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 4
Default Wont Idle

Can the fast idle cam be adjusted (on the passenger side) and what should I look for? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by jons1946; 01-08-2013 at 10:09 AM.
jons1946 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:26 PM   #5
bpassmore
Smokin Member
 
bpassmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alvin, Texas
Posts: 26
Default

If it is a Q-jet it probably has a bad float, saturated with gas causing the idle to go too rich and die. That is probably why the increase in idle speed did not hold.
bpassmore is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:26 AM   #6
fishslayer143@yahoo.com
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Iberia LA
Posts: 8,001
Default

if it sat for 12 years, that carb is probably in need of a thorough cleaning and maybe a rebuild... Seafoam just won t do it
fishslayer143@yahoo.com is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:17 AM   #7
jons1946
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 4
Default Wont Idle

Thanks for your responses. I kinda of figured that the carb. has issues. This is my fourth vette. I had a 74, 70 and 80 prior to this. The 74 and 70had a 454. The 80 had the L-82. I never had problems with any of he previious cars but the 79 I just bought has a ton of problems (mainly vacuum and electrical). I'll probably just buy a rebuilt carb and go from there. Summit sells a rebuilt for $299 which I hope will work on this car since it is originally a California vehicle.
jons1946 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:28 AM   #8
bluedawg357
Smokin 200HP Club
 
bluedawg357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: anchorage
Posts: 213
Default

If your concerned about the original carb, email lars at v8fastcars@msn.com, he will send you his papers on rebuilding the quadrajet. He'll even rebuild it for you for a fee, running it in on a test engine and wide band o2 to ensure that its set up right. Would cost ya less than buying a new one.
bluedawg357 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Share This Thread
  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to Facebook
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to MySpace
  • Submit Thread to Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Google
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:54 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2006-2009 © SmokinVette.Com