Antenna wont go down - SmokinVette.com Forums
SmokinVette.com Home
  • Corvette Forum
  • Login to Corvette Forums
  • SmokinVette.com
  • About SmokinVette.com
  • Corvette Forum
  • Corvette Gallery
  • Corvette Parts
  • Corvette Yellow Pages
SmokinVette.com Forums : General Corvette Forums : Corvette Audio : Antenna wont go down
Corvette Audio
Audio Components | Radars | Alarms

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
bigdogjack
Smokin Member
 
bigdogjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dittmer Mo.
Posts: 20
Default Antenna wont go down

Antenna wont go down (motor is running), how does that work and is it hard to get to?
bigdogjack is offline  
Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:44 AM   #2
Raydawg357
Smokin 1000HP Twin Turbo Club
 
Raydawg357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 1,550
Default

Did you install a new stereo? If so, you may connected the wrong blue wire to the antenna wire. If not, the power antenna works off of 3 wires: constant, ground and switched power. If you still have the OEM setup, the antenna could be going bad. Aftermarket replacements average around $60.
__________________

"I'm addicted to naked pictures and talking about B!#*^$ that I almost had"..........Drake
Raydawg357 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
Snowweasel
Smokin 100HP Club
 
Snowweasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 134
Smile

Try a little grafite spray ,on the shaft.put on the sray and help push it down when the motor is going down
Snowweasel is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:29 AM   #4
alfredo65
Smokin Member
 
alfredo65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

There's a toothed wire that joins to the mast and is rolled away by the engine to take the aerial mast down. It's typical for older ones to break.
alfredo65 is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
MarkyMark
Smokin 100HP Club
 
MarkyMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 176
Default

I don't know if this will help. I see that you have a C5. But look at my posting "Removing and replacing antenna mast." (C4 Tech) Also look at photos in my gallery. Detailed photos. My posting & photos may give you some idea. Any questions, feel free to contact me.
MarkyMark is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:08 PM   #6
6781camaro
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Spring Hill
Posts: 11
Default

Seems silly to ask but... have you checked the ground wire on it?
6781camaro is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Share This Thread
  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to Facebook
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to MySpace
  • Submit Thread to Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Google
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:16 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2006-2009 © SmokinVette.Com