Tach not working - SmokinVette.com Forums
SmokinVette.com Home
  • Corvette Forum
  • Login to Corvette Forums
  • SmokinVette.com
  • About SmokinVette.com
  • Corvette Forum
  • Corvette Gallery
  • Corvette Parts
  • Corvette Yellow Pages
SmokinVette.com Forums : Corvette Forums : C3 Corvette Forums : C3 Tech & Performance : Tach not working
C3 Tech & Performance

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2011, 03:31 PM   #1
Jerky-Boy
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Shelby NC
Posts: 23
Default Tach not working

I'm restoring a 75. I'm trying to troubleshoot anything not working on the way apart instead of after its all back togather. The tach does not work I read that it is usally the circuit board. Is there any way to check the signal coming from the distributor?
Jerky-Boy is offline  
Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 05:25 PM   #2
toobroketoretire
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
toobroketoretire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dunlap, California
Posts: 8,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerky-Boy View Post
I'm restoring a 75. I'm trying to troubleshoot anything not working on the way apart instead of after its all back togather. The tach does not work I read that it is usally the circuit board. Is there any way to check the signal coming from the distributor?

Try hooking a volt meter to it. I have never done that but it seems like it would show something.
toobroketoretire is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 05:45 PM   #3
Vettemagnet
Smokin 750HP Supercharged Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Your Mom's house
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerky-Boy View Post
I'm restoring a 75. I'm trying to troubleshoot anything not working on the way apart instead of after its all back togather. The tach does not work I read that it is usally the circuit board. Is there any way to check the signal coming from the distributor?
I would start at the distributor -> tach filter ->Tach

The tach filter looks like a capacitor with a wire at each end and it has a metal mount attached to it where it should mount to the manifold. Make sure that it's secure to the manifold, My old car would act funny and the tach wouldn't work if the tack filter was loose. I think it needs to be grounded, I can't remember

Anyway, I hope this helps and I'm sure one of the other guys will chime in. Good luck!

Vettemagnet is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 02:58 PM   #4
Jerky-Boy
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Shelby NC
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks I tried the volt meter it showed 12 volts no change with RPMs. There was no tach filter on the manifold maybe it has already fried the circut board in the tach. There is what looked like a capacitor inside the distributor just like the old days maybe thats it?
Jerky-Boy is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 06:07 PM   #5
toobroketoretire
Smokin 5000HP+ Posting Maniac
 
toobroketoretire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dunlap, California
Posts: 8,892
Default Tachometer Filter

There should be a tachometer filter mounted on the intake manifold. It's about 3" long, 5/8" diameter, and has a wire sticking out of each end. One wire goes to the plug-in on the distributor and the other wire goes to your tachometer. I'm not sure what the filter does but the tachometer won't work without it.
toobroketoretire is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Share This Thread
  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to Facebook
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to MySpace
  • Submit Thread to Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Google
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:02 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2006-2009 © SmokinVette.Com