thermal time cold start switch - SmokinVette.com Forums
SmokinVette.com Home
  • Corvette Forum
  • Login to Corvette Forums
  • SmokinVette.com
  • About SmokinVette.com
  • Corvette Forum
  • Corvette Gallery
  • Corvette Parts
  • Corvette Yellow Pages
SmokinVette.com Forums : Corvette Forums : C4 Corvette Forums : C4 Scan & Tune : thermal time cold start switch
C4 Scan & Tune

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2009, 04:33 PM   #1
shlowe
Smokin Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 1
Default thermal time cold start switch

I have a 85 vette that runs very rough when cold. I discovered that there is no fire going to the Thermal time cold start switch except in the starting mode. When the switch is released, the wire going to the thermal switch loses it fire. my question is, is there a relay or what controls the fire going to the thermal switch.
shlowe is offline  
Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
ex-x-fire
Smokin 400HP Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 492
Default

From what I read, the cold start in injector only operates while cranking a cold engine.
I think you need to check f. pump press. & make sure it holds press. when the key is off. An inj. leaking raw fuel will make it run rough. Check your coolant temp. senser for restistence.
20*f=13500 olhms
40*f=7500 olhms
70*f=3400 olhms
Those above are typical room temps(on a cold eng.)
-40*f=100700 olhms
210*f=185 olhms, fully warmed up engine.
Good luck
ex-x-fire is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:38 PM   #3
vetteoz
Smokin 2500HP Pro Road Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shlowe View Post
. I discovered that there is no fire going to the Thermal time cold start switch except in the starting mode.
That is correct operation.
If the CSI was not working you would have to crank longer to get it to start but would not affect general running
vetteoz is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:01 PM   #4
bc.boy
Smokin 200HP Club
 
bc.boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kelowna B.C. Canada
Posts: 282
Default

i have same problem.just spent 4 months rebuilding everything i could take on and got code for coolant temp sensor[the one under the plenum]. I believe it is the sensor as my cooling fans kick in at startup.this would cause computer to believe the engine is warm and cut power to the cold start injector
bc.boy is offline   Send a Private Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Share This Thread
  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to Facebook
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to MySpace
  • Submit Thread to Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Google
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2006-2009 © SmokinVette.Com